How to Disable Slack Connect for Channels or for DMs?

In this world of complete digitalisation, we have been trying to make things as digital as possible. Not only social media, but a lot of apps have also been developed that comes as a great survivor for all of us at our workplace as well. One such amazing platform is Slack which is a channel-based messaging platform. This helps you to stay connected with your team and work together easily even when you all are not even together. The users will be able to connect their different tools and services with each other and share whatever they want easily without facing any kind of difficulty.

Slack comes along with a lot of features and one such feature is Slack Connect. This allows different members of your team to work altogether through channels or Direct Messages which are also called DM’s. Slack Connect also gives the users the ability to enable or disable the feature at any time. Here in this article, we are going to tell you that how you guys will be able to disable the Slack Connect for Channels or for DMs.

Steps to Disable Slack Connect for Channels

Disable Slack Connect for Channels –

These channels helps the users to work with people who are not in their team or company. Slack has provided a feature to enable or disable Slack Connect for channels at any point of time. Here are the steps to do that –

  1. Here your first step will be to open Slack and on your desktop, you will be able to see the name or your workspace on the top left corner of the screen. You need to choose that workspace in which you wish to do the changes.
  2. After choosing your workspace, you need to go to the menu. From many different options, click on “Settings & Administration” option from the menu.
  3. In the settings, you will see a complete list that is for different options. From here, you need to click on “Workspace settings”.
  4. From the workspace settings, you will be able to manage the complete settings of your workspace and from here you need to click on the “Permissions” tab.
  5. In the permissions tab, you will see “shared channels” and then click on “expand” option.
  6. Now you will see the option called “enable new shared channels” and from here you can easily untick the box and this will directly disable this option. After this click on “save” and it’s done.

Steps to Disable Slack Connect for DMs–

Here are all the steps through which you will be able to disable Slack Connect for DMs –

  1. Here also you need to open Slack and from here choose the workspace for which you wish to change the settings.
  2. Now go to the “settings & administration” option which you will find in the menu which will open up another menu for you guys.
  3. In the following settings option, click on the “Workspace settings” and then go to the Permissions tab.
  4. After going to the permissions tab, you will see an option of “slack connect for direct messages”, you need to click on this and it will show the complete settings.
  5. Now you will see an option of “enable slack connect for direct messages” and from here you can easily untick the box and it will disable the same.

These were the few easy steps that will help you guys to easily disable or enable slack connect for various channels or direct messages.

Leave a Reply